Voyage of discovery 

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.” – Marcel Proust

Every day, I fall in love with the sky. It never ceases to amaze me; the vibrant colors, the way it changes ever so quickly, the subtle shift of the clouds. Yesterday, I stood outside with my dogs and I just soaked in the beauty that surrounded me. I feel as though I am looking out at the world through new eyes; I feel like everything has become more alive. The blue of the sky is brighter, the green grass illuminates differently than it ever has before. The clouds are whiter than ever and the sun, for once, radiates so beautifully that I do not even mind dying from the Florida heat. I stood in my backyard and I just let it all consume me, and I felt so at peace. No phone, no distractions, just me and my dogs enjoying the beauty of life and nature. I was able to watch a Monarch butterfly soar slowly across my line of sight and it felt surreal. When was the last time you actually stopped to look at all that life has to offer? Watching the butterfly fly so freely made me realize, I let technology keep me from noticing the simple things in life; the beautiful things. I envied that butterfly; I want to be free. I want to be able to roam aimlessly, but life can’t always be that easy. We are expected to have road maps or some type of guideline for our future, but why? I try very hard to shy away from the act of planning, because plans lead to disappointment. Plans typically coincide with deadlines and sometimes, adding a deadline to things just leads to unnecessary hurt. I just wanna live in the moment and take life day by day. I just want to appreciate the world for what it is rather than create a false reality.    
   

One thought on “Voyage of discovery 

Leave a Reply

