Therefore, I wait ..

“You’re more patient than you give yourself credit for. I can tell you have so many questions to ask me, but you bite your tongue and pull out your phone to distract you. I think you feel as though I may get mad or feel indifferent if you try to ask…”
I told him I keep myself from asking, because I don’t want to rush the process of him opening up. In the time we have known each other, I have let him go at his own pace. I am an open book and I cannot expect for everyone to be the same as me; therefore, I wait. I want someone to trust me enough to confide in me. I want them to know that I will always have listening ears for their rants, tears, arguments, and so on. I love connecting with people deeply. I love when someone allows me to learn about the obstacles that molded them into the person they are today. I tell him there’s many days ahead of us, and each day can be used as a day to teach each other and learn from one another so why force it. I want to know the worst nightmare you ever had, I want to know what provoked your fears, I want to know what drives you, and I want to know what doubts you have in your head. I view people as artwork, and with a painting you cannot just view it as a whole because there is so many subtleties that make it what it is. So when I view you, I want to know the story behind every scar and behind every battle fought. The past of people does not defer me, because who you were then is not who you are now. The person you were back then caused you to grow into the person you are now, so opening up will never scare me away. 

Leave a Reply

